Posted by: annemartinfletcher | June 12, 2012

Off the Grid

I will be off the grid for a few days. My husband and child convinced me to go on a hike-in, backpacking, multi-night camping trip.

My previous camping experience consists of :

  1. Car camping on the Alcan Highway to Alaska before it was paved, when I was my child’s age.
  2. Survival, Evasion, Resistance, and Escape (SERE) training when my only equipment was what I would have had in the event of a bailout from an aircraft.
  3. Survival training for wilderness Search and Rescue Dog Teams, during the coldest night in ten years, when my only equipment was what our team carried in day packs, as if for an ordinary daytime search. I also had my very skinny, very scared search dog with me.

I am not enthused about this trip. My husband and friends assure me that wilderness camping is much more fun with sleeping bags, pads, water filters, camp stoves, and french press coffee. We’ll see.

Responses

  1. Anne, you neglected to mention all the tent camping–remember the huge, multi-room tent when you were 12/13?) we did in North Carolina and at Navajo Lake?


Leave a Reply

Categories

