Posted by: annemartinfletcher | May 19, 2012

Total Eclipse of the Sun

I’m sitting in my childhood home in Albuquerque, unable to get the lyrics of Carly Simon’s song “You’re So Vain” out of my head.

“. . .then you flew your Learjet to Novia Scotia, to see the total eclipse of the sun.” That’s me! Not quite, but almost. At one time in my life, I flew learjets to Novia Scotia. Not this decade.

I have driven over 400 miles to see the total eclipse of the sun, and to share the experience with my child, husband, and parents. As I said earlier, we are in Albuquerque, New Mexico, the prime viewing spot in the United States for Sunday evening’s “annular” solar eclipse.

from Roen Kelly, Astronomy.com

An annular solar eclipse occurs when the moon is too far away from Earth to completely block the sun, even when the eclipse is at totality. Think of the Sick Puppies’ Polar Opposite album cover, and you’ll have an image of what I hope to see on Sunday, through a special viewing lens, of course.

You can read Karri Ferron’s excellent article about the eclipse here.

This will make the second total solar eclipse I have experienced in my lifetime. Sometimes you do not need a learjet to be vain and cool; you just need to be excited about the heavens, a little geeky, and lucky to be nearby.

Leave a Reply

Categories

