Posted by: annemartinfletcher | June 6, 2011

YIPEE!

Twenty-two months ago, I asked readers to follow my successes  and tribulations on the road to getting my first book published. Today I reached a significant milepost on that journey–I just signed an agreement with Rachelle Gardner, Literary Agent with WordServe Literary! Everyone who is a professional writer may now envision me throwing confetti and popping open the champagne bottle. Thank you, thank you.

Of course, this milepost just marks the beginning of the next leg along the road to a well-published book. So, I think I will hold off on the champagne, and get to work on the next chapter of Groundbreaker: Coming of Age in the First Class of Women at the United States Air Force Academy. When I graduated from the Academy, I foolishly inscribed my plaque and sabre with the words, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith” (2 Timothy 4:7). During my retirement ceremony fifteen years later, I remarked on how arrogant that was of me, to think the fight and the race were over. In reality, my graduation just marked the beginning of my life as an officer and the struggle to “keep the faith.” I have worked for several years on improving my writing, manuscript, and book proposal in order to attract the attention of a literary agent; now that is accomplished and I am just beginning my life as a writer.

Since beginning this blog, I realize that my most popular posts are the ones that deal with the same issues I write about in my memoirs: cadet life, military life, and returning to civilian life after being in the military. Therefore, this blog will continue that focus. At the same time, I know a lot of my writing friends want to hear about how I landed an agent, especially one as respected as Rachelle Gardner. For you, starting later this week, I will be posting regularly about that experience on the Jane’s Stories Press Foundation blog, “See Jane Write.”

In the meantime, please join me in a brief, virtual celebration, as I embark on (what is hopefully) my book writing career.

Responses

  1. Congrats, Anne!! This is so exciting! You should feel very proud, as many are of you!

  2. Thank you, Barb!

  3. Outstanding! …and well deserved.

    Congratulations,

    Gary

  4. Bravo, Anne. Bravo!


Leave a Reply

Categories

