Posted by: annemartinfletcher | August 19, 2010

Clinging to Hope Despite-and Because of-Rejections

My fellow Zoomie and accomplished SciFi/romance author (and jet pilot extraordinaire) Susan Grant, ribbed me about a rejection note I e-mailed to her.  Susan wrote back, “Only us writers hang on the hope of those nonstandard rejections! I can so relate!”  That quote is from a woman who has 22 books published by traditional publishing houses and many other honors.

When I read through the twenty-some rejections that other authors received from the same agent I had queried (yeah, you can do that on querytracker.net), his extra two words, “Try others,” gave me hope. Similarly, a very nice rejection from an editor told me that she was sure someone would publish my manuscript.  So now, I just need to find that someone.

Susan suggested I send out twenty queries at a time, to appropriate agents who handle memoirs. I have also heard that advice from agents at writing conferences.

For now, though, let’s aspiring book authors enjoy whatever extra words our “turn-downs” bring.  If Susan and I find hope in non-standard “turn-downs,” every writer should. Of course, Susan and I might have more confidence that the typical writer because, in the immortal words of Buzz Lightyear, “. . .any doubt I had got pounded out of me at the Academy.”

PS, if you don’t mind helping me to get an agent, please scroll down the page until you can click on the “networked blogs” badge, then click “follow.”  I would greatly appreciate a few more “followers.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

