Posted by: annemartinfletcher | May 12, 2010

Knowing When to Stop the Revisions

The hard part about creating art can be knowing when to stop.  I recently sent out my sample chapters to an editor friend who previously had not seen them.  Bless him, he asked me some profound questions about my goals for my manuscript, but made very few suggestions. Thank goodness, he did not send me back to the keyboard.  I know how hard it is for an editor to  not revise.

I already knew that it was time for me to float the manuscript.  It just takes courage to throw it on the publishing waters to find out if it will sail or sink.

It is important to get educated feedback   on a manuscript before submitting it to an agent or a publisher.  But at some point, the writer’s heart needs to take over and say, “Needs another revision” or “Send it out.”

Responses

  1. I think it’s like cutting a record. When you’re so sick of the song you can’t stand to hear it again, it’s almost ready.

    Dr. B

  2. Dr. B makes many more humorous and wise comments on the writing life at his blog–I suggest we visit it often.

  3. Kylin Larsson just answered this question on Tamara Sellman’s blog, writersrainbow at blogspot.com. http://writersrainbow.blogspot.com/2010/10/snapshot-of-writing-life-writer-kylin.html#comment-form

    Her answer to “And you know what good enough is? It’s good.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

