Posted by: annemartinfletcher | August 8, 2009

Jackson Browne – Politics in Concert

I just got back from a stunning,  outdoor Jackson Browne concert.  My hands-down (or should I say Hands-Up?) favorite song was his encore–a remix of  “I Am A Patriot” with “It’s Your Thing”.  I thought it was a brand new song, titled “Liberal for the Righteous,” but he actually released the original version in 1989.   The version I heard tonight is different even from the  YouTube versions.  I hope he re-releases a concert version.

Another song that shook up this Florida audience was “Going Down to Cuba.”  Man, Browne has guts.  I loved the song, but basically it was a protest against restraints on American freedoms.  This comes from his latest album–I urge you to play it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

